Navigation Confirmation

Losing the content of a complex form after accidentally closing a tab or navigating away from can be frustrating for users. To make this less likely to happen, some web applications will often display a confirmation dialog when the user tries to leave a page without saving its changes. GWTP offers a built-in mechanism to display such a confirmation.

The confirmation message can be enabled by calling PlaceManager.setOnLeaveConfirmation("Do you really want to leave?"). For example, this method can be called when the user edits something on the page. When the user saves his changes it is possible to disable this confirmation by calling PlaceManager.setOnLeaveConfirmation(null).

When the navigation confirmation message is set, a pop-up dialog will ask the user to confirm the navigation.